Deprived

Posted on Updated on

Wow – as a side not, it’s been 6 years today I’ve been with WordPress… and I think I was with Vox for 4 years! Happy anniversary to me!

I’m not completely sleep deprived, but I’m struggling with it.

We’re getting ready to leave on vacation… oh how luxurious! Indeed it is, but being self employed means I can’t just ‘close up the shop’ and be gone.

I have lists and sub-lists with lists of lists with lists of things to do. It’s all good. It is social media after all and it’s not like I’m missing performing life saving surgery… but it’s still my job and it has to get done.

Which leads me to my point… for the most part (um… alcohol is a factor!) I’m a fairly light sleeper. I am affected by not only noise, but also light. (There’s been many a time where William quietly opens the fridge door and I’m awakened by the light!)

With so much on my mind of late, I find that when I wake up, falling back asleep is impossible.

On Saturday morning I woke up at 3 and decided to go into the office (yes, I have an office of sorts in town) as William was asleep on the couch (my normal office) and I was working by 4:30 am… at home by 9:30.

Today I was awake at 4:30 (I wake up every day at this time) and finally convinced myself that more sleep was not going to happen and I got started on my day at 6am.

Let’s review my goals for this upcoming vacation (yes, I’m really that anal retentive!)

  • Sleep
  • Get some sun
  • Eat well
  • Read and relax
  • Go snorkeling and buy a snorkel shirt
  • Enjoy every second that I’m free of my electronic leash
  • Fun times with my husband

Pretty realistic, eh? Barring a pirate attack or off season hurricane, I should be able make this happen.

However, sleep… William likes to stay up late and I’m a morning person. William likes the TV on a lot, and I’d rather have quiet and dark. Sleep will be the most difficult challenge with regard to my vacation goals.

Yes, I have eye masks and ear plugs. In the past these things have only helped slightly. We have really good headphones and I’m going to look into an ‘extension’ to make them long enough to reach the TV in our room.

Well, back at it… crossed blogging off my list!

Leave a Reply

