Lucky LG

Posted on

I am one lucky girl, with a hard working husband.

It’s been a darned good year for us – lots of adventure, lots of travel and lots more upcoming fun.

We are now Browns season ticket holders (bought before Manziel was drafted… that had nothing to do with our decision). So that means a few Cleveland trips this year (the first being the home opener against the Saints. Woo hoo.

Very soon we’re travelling to PEI on a golf trip. I haven’t been to that area of Canada since I was about 7 or 8 (With my parents and one brother – it was a convention), we stayed at St. Andrew’s By the Sea in New Brunswick and ventured into Nova Scotia. I’ve never been to PEI and Billy has never been to that area at all. We’re going to stay the first night in Old Quebec City – it’s like North America’s only true European city – looks pretty cool. Oh, and we’re driving. Expected travel time is 20 hours – yikes!

Map 1

I think the drive time would be significantly reduced if we could cut through Maine.

Map 2

But that would require roads… which there aren’t any of.

Oh well, the point of driving is to see the area (plus it costs less to fly to Hawaii than to PEI, and they don’t have a lot of car rentals available).

I know the Canada US border is messed up in areas (like one tiny blip in BC – seen at 3.51 in this funny video discussing the US – Canada border), but it would make more sense to me that everything south of the St. Lawrence be US, and everything north, Canada. But whatevs. Not important.

PEI is known for being a) small b) the home of Anne of Green Gables (required reading for any girl under the age of 11 in Canada) c) a culinary/seafood tourism d) having red beaches and e) good golf.

In early August I’m also venturing to Pennsylvannia for a business planning retreat for my ‘main contract’. So let’s review my past and upcoming adventures…

Within about a year… I have (or will) have stayed in…. Michigan, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Quebec, PEI, Tennessee, Florida, California, Hawaii and Nevada. I have also visited, New York, New Brunswick, Kentucky, Georgia and Utah.

Cool! Lucky LG.

Life’s good.

5 thoughts on “Lucky LG

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    July 13, 2014 at 1:10 pm

    You drove through a lot more states than you have listed – between you & Florida – but I know that’s not “visiting.” I’ve driven through a sliver of Kentucky, but didn’t stop (not sure there was an exit there) … so I can say I’ve been there, kinda.

    “The point of driving is to see the area.” ………. “Oh look! Another tree!”

      LG responded:
      July 15, 2014 at 6:39 am

      To get to FL, I drive through Michigan, Ohio (snooze), Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia and of course then Florida. I think I covered them all… also drove through a bit of Arizona when we stayed in Nevada… so I guess that counts.

      In Nevada and Utah, it was more like, ‘hey, another rock… cool’. Lol!

        GOM in Oklahoma said:
        July 15, 2014 at 11:38 am

        Ok … Yeah, I was thinking you’d hit the Carolinas somewhere in there but I guess not.

    stevebetz said:
    July 14, 2014 at 2:02 pm

    I love a good road trip. I would love to get to the Maritime Provinces — looks like a fun trip!

      LG responded:
      July 15, 2014 at 6:41 am

      I love road trips too – I hope William can keep his stress level down when going through cities – it’s a habit as he drives so much for work.
      My sister drove up through the same area I’m going to a few years back, and actually took a ferry into Labrador and/or Newfoundland – that looks really nice.
      I hope to take lots of pics (and not just of golf courses… I’m also slightly obsessed with lighthouses!)

Leave a Reply

