Sports!

Posted on

Last night Billy and I ventured over to the D to see the Tigers game. Of course we went over early to experience some bars (and homeless beggars). Fun, well, not the homeless beggars, but the D has some exceptional dive bars, which I am a fan of (the Detroiter, The Detroit Pub and The Old Shillelagh just to name a few…)

Friends met us at Cheli’s and when we arrived in the stadium the score was already 5 – nothing for the Dodgers – but the Tigers made a huge comeback and won.

I’m not a baseball fan – I do like the atmosphere and when something exciting happens, but in general I find baseball about as exciting ¬†watching paint dry. There were a bunch of foul balls that hit off the upper deck and came near us (we were the section closest to the first base, 16 rows up – very good seats). One ball in particular hit off the upper deck and came right at us, nearly hitting the man in front of us who happened to be the father of the Dodger’s pitcher who was pulled after allowing 5 runs in the second inning.

So that was exciting.

It was a good night.

Yeah for summer funs!

4 thoughts on “Sports!

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    July 9, 2014 at 5:49 pm

    I’d seen that – they came back to win by quite a large margin.

    As I wrote a while back, people who think baseball is boring have obviously never spent 2.5 hours watching a bunch of grown men run around a huge empty field kicking a ball.

      LG responded:
      July 10, 2014 at 6:53 am

      Bahaha! Totally agree. I don’t get soccer at all! I also don’t like the faking of injuries… how can that sport be so popular in countries where rugby is also popular (the toughest sports players imo).
      I’d take baseball any day… especially the atmosphere of a live game.

        GOM in Oklahoma said:
        July 10, 2014 at 5:11 pm

        The only reason soccer is so popular is that anyone can play it. All it takes is a ball. And that “ball” can sometimes just be a wad of garbage. Kids in even the poorest places can play it and dream of becoming a super-star. And it (and baseball) have so many minor leagues where 3rd-world kids making what we’d consider a pittance are wealthy beyond their wildest dreams … well, I can see the appeal.

        But in Europe? Where they have real sports? No … I don’t get it either.

        LG responded:
        July 11, 2014 at 6:02 am

        I can see the appeal as well, but I think I’d rather watch little kids play than the professional athletes!

Leave a Reply

