My recent obsession is getting out of hand

Posted on

I should first say that I’ve been working a lot lately. Like a whole lot more than normal. Big things going on with my main contract, the usual with my other contracts, one random quickie contract, cleaning up some stuff for an older temporary contract and a bit of volunteer type stuff. Ack. The timing of said work is acceptable as it’s not golf season and I’m pushing hard for an easier April (vacation!).

Anyway…

I’ve been obsessed with email!

Aside from having one email account open at all times when I’m online, I probably check into my email accounts more than 20 times a day. Insane. Encouraging/supporting this obsession is that fact that I can just grab my phone and view all the accounts at once without having to log in and out.

I also feel (more obsessive behavior) that I have to reply immediately. Even if it’s just to say, ‘I’ll look into this later today and get back to you by this morning.’

Why this obsession? I guess it’s coming from a ¬†place of politeness. One of my biggest pet peeves is not receiving a timely response to an email I’ve sent. So many times I send documents – no thank -yous. I ask questions – no answers. I go over and above, do favours and extras… <insert cricket sound here> I send out well thought out and polite emails – and I receive one word replies. I even schedule emails to be sent (yay Boomerang for gmail) to be sent when they’re most likely to be read (or not wake up the recipient in case they are pushed emails on their phone and sleep with it nearby).

Poor email etiquette Drives Me Crazy. This too.

Of course I’m not perfect. Of course there are emails I don’t reply to in an appropriate or timely fashion. Of course. I send and receive up to a 100 emails a day – can’t be perfect all the time – but I try… I really try.

I think because other people drive me nuts my obsession is getting a bit out of hand. Email interactions are honestly the only way I communicate with some clients. Like seriously I’ve worked with this awesome client since November and I have never seen or spoken to him. I have a couple of clients that are super good with getting back to me, and I know if I haven’t heard back from them within a few hours that something went awry. Honest – it happened twice yesterday alone.

When other contacts don’t reply to me appropriately, or especially timely, I often (and perhaps wrongly… or not…) translate that into ‘you’re not important. I don’t care what you’re saying’, etc.

I know I need to ease up for my own sanity – perhaps when I’m over this huge hump I’ll return to my normal near obsessives self as opposed to this constant phone in hand email Nazi I’ve become. Ahhh. Wish me luck.

4 thoughts on “My recent obsession is getting out of hand

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    March 21, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    Well … it IS business mail and does deserve a business-like reply.

      LG responded:
      March 21, 2014 at 7:38 pm

      Yes! Thank you!

    stevebetz said:
    March 21, 2014 at 3:24 pm

    I occasionally get the same way and make sure that I actually shut down my email and feeds when I need to concentrate on something else. It’s so easy to think — I’ll just zip this off, or just reply quick to that — and then *poof* what was I working on again?

      LG responded:
      March 21, 2014 at 7:40 pm

      I absolutely agree. Just yesterday I set aside 2 hours to work on one specific thing. Just by checking my email, that time was completely taken over by another task. Funny, because it was like the guy was on fire, and he’s one who rarely responds to me. Annoying!

Leave a Reply

