Of course it’s cold, it’s Canada

Posted on Updated on

It’s been cold. Like below average cold, but seriously, it’s Canada. Based on Facebook you’d think the sky is falling. Yes it’s cold. I’m sure it was cold when you went to school/work/gym this morning. Guess what? I was cold too, but seriously folks, it’s Canada (albeit Southern Ontario… still…).

Yeah, it’s been so cold one does not venture outdoors unless one has to. I told the dogs this, and they collectively decided, ‘We don’t care. Walk us.’ They don’t care about wind chill. They don’t care about snow (well, Halia does sometimes).

So this (a part of my ‘not impressed look’ meme for Stevil) is me yesterday…

Image

I was 5*F more unimpressed yesterday than today, as yesterday it was a balmy 4*F when I walked the dogs (with a wind chill of a brisk -20*F), and today, although I looked pretty much the same, it was 9*F, with almost no wind.

William and I were in the hot tub last night and realized the the air temperature was 101*F colder than the hot tub water temperature. Now that’s something, I guess.

It’s winter. In Canada.

5 thoughts on “Of course it’s cold, it’s Canada

    Doug said:
    January 23, 2013 at 10:32 pm

    It’s not exceptionally cold this year, even for Canada. In fact, it’s been a fairly mild winter up until this point, so I’m counting myself lucky.

    stevebetz said:
    January 24, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    I love the idea of 100 degrees difference between the tub and the air! *nerd-alert*!

      LG responded:
      January 24, 2013 at 9:08 pm

      Ha! True dat!

      I also just realized (you might have seen my recent Facebook picture) that on July 17th 2012 it was 101*F – and January 21st 2013 it was 0*F. That’s a pretty significant temperature swing – we certainly experience all the seasons here!

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    January 25, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    We’ve been pretty mild with a few super-cold fronts blowing through … then it warming back up. When people comment on the cold, I look at them and say, “It’s January. The 70 degrees it was last week is more unusual than the 20 degrees it is today.”

    Aussie Emjay said:
    February 17, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    Why are your eyes not watering? When I go out in our significantly warmer DC winter my eyes stream and my nose drips non-stop. I feel I’m the only one walking down the street with my face melting away!

Leave a Reply

