Enough about me, more about me.

Posted on Updated on

It’s my blog after all.

I’ve been going to the gym for 5 weeks now. Not too shabby! I haven’t noticed significant changes, many very small changes, but I’m still at it.

I’m a big believer that people need to write down and share their goals to ensure success. It makes the goal ‘real’. So here I go… As I’ve mentioned before, my goal is lose 16% of my starting weight (as of last week I was down 3% overall). It’s a realistic goal. It’s not going to make me a size 2, but maybe a 6 or 8. That’s cool. I want to feel comfortable in a bikini and confident in my appearance in general – AND of course there is the health aspect of it. I’m not getting younger (mentally maybe, not physically), and I’m inspired by the dedication (and other stuff I don’t blog about) I’ve seen in William. So there.

Here’s what I’m doing. This is what works for me (well, yet to be seen, but I’ve had success in the past applying these same practices).

Gym – I need to go to the gym. I’ve tried video work outs at home, we own a treadmill, and those don’t work for me – I need to go to the gym.  I know that I don’t have a regular 9-5 job, more like an 8:30 – 12pm, plus various times throughout the day kind of job – but I get up at 5:30 and go to the gym 4 to 6 times a week (thank God it’s only 6 kms away – in the spring/summer I will ride my bike there). First thing in the morning is when I have the most energy (once I get going), the dogs are fine alone (don’t need to be out and fed until I get home), essentially I’m best available.

I’ve been 5 times already in January, in December I went to the gym 21 times. That works out to just less than $2 a workout. Not too bad. Here’s what I do:

– 30 mins walking at about 4 mph on a slight incline. I used to run – but I have knee issues (they crunch on the step mill – have to talk to my Chiropractor about that) and I don’t want to make them worse, in fact I’m hoping that they get better with the more weight I lose and maybe then I can run again… I know that running is a great way to jump (can’t really jump either, haha) start an exercise program, but I can’t bear the thought of having lousy knees (like my mom and my sister).

– Stretch (my back is pretty tight after the treadmill, so I like to stretch after)

– 15 mins on the elliptical (that’s where I sweat and breathe hard!)

– Sometimes 5 – 20 minutes on the step mill (very slow speed right now, but it’s pretty tough!).

– I’m going to add the rowing machine soon, but my wrist has been hurting me lately, so no rowing – for now!

– I work out with weights (changing it up between machines and free weights) my legs, arms & chest, and shoulders and back. Throw in there sit-ups (just started doing them), lower back, and a few other random exercises.

I also walk the dogs at about a 3 mph pace (although I just downloaded an app to measure my speed), for 45 – 60 minutes, 3-5 times a week.

I track everything I eat, all my cardio and weight training on My Fitness Pal – as an app on my phone (also available on the computer). It really helps me determine what/how much to eat. I have a friend who uses it regularly, and it’s helped her tremendously (with a crazy amount of hard work too). It even analyses nutritional requirements, so that’s big too. Best app ever. Takes about 5 minutes a day to input everything.

I try to eat anywhere from 1,200 to 1,400 calories a day (the higher amount on days I work out on, thank GOD for that! That will have to drop in the next 2 months for sure) – 5 days a week. I eat great on Fridays, but might splurge a bit in the evening (there’s a lot of calories in alcohol and snacks!), eat pretty much whatever I want on Saturdays (within reason, I don’t want to negate all my hard work from the past week!), might have a few to several cocktails, chips, etc. On Sundays I eat good during the day, and might have dessert, or chips and a pop a night. Basically it works out to be about 80% good, healthy eating, and about 20% slightly not so great.

I’m a big believer in less choices = better choices. For instance, I don’t have a big variety in what I eat for breakfast and lunch. For breakfast – yogurt or oatmeal. For lunch – soup, eggs, or if I’m really lazy – a Lean Cuisine entree (with extra broccoli or peas thrown in – or I’m still hungry after and not satisfied). Sometimes it depends on what I feel my body needs – if I’m taking the dogs for a big walk, I know I need the protein from the eggs, just hanging about the house – soup will do. That’s about it. Nothing fancy. I don’t drink pop (diet or otherwise) during the week (and like 3 cans max on week-ends) or fruit juice (just as sugary as pop!). I drink water, and a lot of it.

Dinner for me (us, as I cook mostly during the week, and William cooks on the week-ends – that works out well for the 80/20 thing!) is fairly well balanced, (veggies, meat) with a not so great carb thrown in there for interest (white rice, potato, stuffing, noodle or pasta – I know I could/should dump the bad carb – quinoa anyone? – but it’s okay for now – will have to cut down a bit around March.)

Well, that about outlines it. I have broken the big goal (16%) into monthly, weekly and even daily (like going to the gym, meeting my caloric goals, etc.) to keep me motivated. Only once did I lay in bed and think, ‘I don’t want to get up. I don’t want to go to the gym. Why bother. I should quit’ – but I didn’t, and it was just a fleeting thought.

This is a pic of me from Hawaii in 2003. I was pretty fit, and weighed my goal weight. I wish I knew my pic was being taken, I would have tightened my abs! I’ll get back to that… only 13% more to go! Yay me!GOAL

 

 

5 thoughts on “Enough about me, more about me.

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    January 8, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    Are you trying to break a posting record for yourself? lol

    It’s good to have goals. My goal right now is to go get another glass of iced tea, and I might actually attain that one!

    Re the running – I’m always amazed when “The Biggest Loser” starts out that they have lard-asses like me running … and then “mysteriously” having knee issues. DUH!
    .
    Oh … and I didn’t want to intrude on the other post, but … if your sister just turned 50 and she was 18 when you were 8 … hmmm. (I always said algebra would come in handy some day!)

    LG responded:
    January 10, 2013 at 1:16 am

    I’ve posted more in the last few days than I did for several months. I’m on a roll!

    I usually watch the Biggest Loser, while eating chips – never motivated by their actions, always thinking, ‘well, at least I’m not that fat!’

    Yes… I’ll be 40 this summer. No biggie. 😉

      GOM in Oklahoma said:
      January 10, 2013 at 1:21 am

      To me, all the screaming is a turn-off. It didn’t motivate me when a Drill Sergeant was doing it, it ain’t gonna do it when a skeleton like Bob Harper does it.

      And, yeah, I think “Wow, I’m not that bad!” too.

      (Like in the episode of “House” when he was eating a double cheeseburger while watching the show and said, “I like to pretend they can see me.”)

    stevebetz said:
    January 15, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    I’ve found that removing choices helps for me — but mostly in the “don’t buy junk food and have it in the house” sort of way.

    I started last fall and am shooting for a half-pound a week for a year. The holidays were of course a big problem in that, but with sensible choices and decent exercise, I think that’s a very do-able plan.

    Good luck!

      LG responded:
      January 21, 2013 at 7:59 pm

      A half pound a week sounds really do-able. For me, I’m not going to give up indulging on food and booze on date night, but rather make better choices most of the time, and slack a bit of the time.

      Good luck to you too!

Leave a Reply

