Stayin’ awake, stayin’ awake

Posted on

I’m about half way through reading my 173 unread items in my Google Reader, and I’m getting sleepy – and it’s 2:25pm on Saturday, January 5th. Nap time!

Why?

Well, I’m pretty much up and at um around 5:30 every morning. If I’m not on my way to the gym (a rather recent phenomenon), then I’m in bed feeling guilty about not being at the gym. Regardless… This morning I was at the gym by 7am, worked for about 3 hours, (unusual for a Saturday, but whatever), then walked the pooch for an hour (plus drive time – not many places to walk the Shank around here), in the snow. In the cold. I’m beat.

William worked a bit today (he went to the gym this morning as well) oh – he just came home! Our scheduled nap time today (we do that once in a while) was between 1:30 and 2:30, waking to watch football and start our date night dinner (prime rib of course) around 4pm.

So, even though now he’s home, greeting the dog very enthusiastically, it will still be more than 1/2 an hour before I can successfully rest my sleepy head. Why? He has to marinate (not sure if you’d call it a marinate or not, it’s just melted butter, crushed peppercorns, and coarse – I like to call it angry – salt) the prime rib, shower and make something for lunch. Of course (as a good wife would do), I offered to do the prime rib for him (although I’m terrible with a mortal, pestle and peppercorns) and make him lunch, but he, like a good, duty bound husband, refused my offer.

Hm…

The butter is melting, the peppercorns are being pummeled.

So sleepy.

What a good Saturday. As long as his cell doesn’t go off…

UsCheers to us!

(His head isn’t really that much bigger than mine. Bigger, yes, but not that much. Ugh, this pic was taken at the beginning of the dreaded ‘Movember’)

IMG_0502

 

(Just before Movember, pink hair, funny hat)

 

Leave a Reply

