Posted on

I’ve been busting my butt lately to get things done around here (as I’ve mentioned before). I worked all week-end and seriously, you can look around and see no visible improvements! Very frustrating indeed!

I still haven’t touched the pond, aside from actually emptying it (and it immediately filled, as we had 2 huge storms within 10 hours of each other). The flagstone patio near the pond is a hot mess – and it doesn’t make sense to work on that until the pond is done. Ugh.

So I might not get it done (or even started!) before I leave next Wednesday… Let’s look at my reasons…

– My sciatic nerve has been acting up. Sometimes it’s okay, and sometimes it’s really really bad. I’m starting to regularly see my chiropractor again, and I know this will help. In the meantime, I’m a little leery of hauling rocks around and spending hours on end bent over.

– Fun things going on. What a great reason not to do pond! We have a golf event Friday evening, a golf ‘date’ with William on Saturday afternoon, and possible a club event on Sunday morning.

– Dang dogs. The dogs need an hour walk a day, which I like to do in the morning. Often after working on the computer for hours, walking the dogs, doing normal household tasks, I’m too beat by early afternoon to think about hard physical labour.

Oh well – it’s my own issue. It’s not like I have a boss or a husband demanding that these things get done! I would just really feel better if I left for Tennessee with the pond area looking nice.

On a completely unrelated note, apparently Wendy’s is trying to make poutine our ‘national’ food. Can’t say I’ve ever had Wendy’s poutine – actually I haven’t even been to a Wendy’s in Canada in probably 25 years… but poutine is certainly yummy. So what symbols define us as Canadian? Clearly hockey. Maybe beer. Moose? (I’ve never seen a live moose) – Let’s combine the two into ‘Moosehead Beer’ – I have had a lot of those! Beaver? (again, never saw a live beaver before, but next week-end is ‘Beaver Fest’ in our nearby city) Touques? Poutine? I’ll go sign the ‘poutition’ right now!

4 thoughts on “

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    May 24, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    I’ve never heard of poutine. (Spell-check doesn’t even recognize it as a real word!) So I looked it up online.

    I could never be a Canadian. I don’t drink beer and poutine just doesn’t look all that appetizing to me.

    And I’ll leave the “never saw a live beaver” comment alone, lol.

      LG responded:
      May 25, 2012 at 12:20 am

      Haha! (beaver!)

      Poutine is goodness. If you get the change try it!

    stevebetz said:
    May 24, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    This is SO bizarre. Before today I’ve never heard of poutine.

    I went to lunch and it was on the menu of the place I ate (I didn’t get it — this time). And then I come back from lunch and this post is here! I feel like I’m getting a poutination.

    LG responded:
    May 25, 2012 at 12:21 am

    Haha!

Leave a Reply

