A dilemma of sorts

Posted on

On Monday I’m flying down to Fort Myers, and I leave the next day, heading home, driving my husband’s boss’s car.

I spoke with my husband’s boss the other day, confirming flight times and the like. They fly home early on Tuesday afternoon, and he said, ‘Are you going to drive us to the airport, or should we try to find a ride to the airport?’

Well.

Just the way he worded the question, of course made me think that they would prefer me driving them to the airport. Which is fine. Which of course I said ‘no problem’. The problem is, it’s a solid 21 hours drive home. If I don’t leave until noon (their flight is at 2pm) I will have to drive 11 hours, until 11pm, just to be half way home. I think it will rather suck to check into a hotel (motel really) at 11pm – knowing that I’ll be up and ready to go at the crack of 6am to avoid traffic (I’m quite schooled on rush hour traffic in TN, KY, OH, and MI) Boo.

So, what to do, what to do?

If I’m leaving at noon on Tuesday, I know that I could push it a bit and drive nearly 12 hours and stay at our place in TN – which is only an hour out of the way, but there is no way I could get up early (to avoid Knoxville, Cincinasty and Detroit rush hours) and drive 10 hours home if arriving around 12am! … If I could stay 2 nights in TN, it would be worth it, and my husband’s boss would save paying for one night’s (he really doesn’t care though) hotel… I think, however, that they would like their car back sooner (they of course have 2, but after spending a solid month together in FL, they may just want the freedom to go their own way in their own cars).

In the pic, you can see that 1-75 travels from Chattanooga, through Cleveland, then up to Knoxville. The route I would take to our house is a bit parallel and west of 1-75 – also a bit slower posted speed wise…

Hm… I guess I’ll see. I think going to FL was more fun than coming home will be…

2 thoughts on “A dilemma of sorts

    LG responded:
    March 27, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    Cool – that was post # 1-2-3-4 for me!

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    March 27, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    Shoot, then forget going to the house in TN … just get home.

    12 hours of driving = the definition of Hell, btw.

Leave a Reply

