Family Day?

Posted on

So today is Family Day – a holiday in Canada created a few years ago because apparently the time between New Year’s Day and Easter is just too long of a stretch to go without a holiday. I think this is the 3rd year of its celebration.

Weird – I just the mail being delivered. I guess Canada Post didn’t get the memo.

In the last few years, this holiday really screwed up some workers/businesses out there who had contracts of employment and didn’t plan for this holiday.

So what to do on Family Day? A lot of arenas have ‘free skate day’ for families, and according to my Mom, all the restaurants and movie theatres are packed. Not for me! I’m going to celebrate Family Day by going indoor golfing. And drinking beers.

I’m a late replacement for 3 guys who couldn’t get away from their families on Family Day! Well, lucky for me!

 

3 thoughts on “Family Day?

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    February 21, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    Canadians just wanted something to coordinate with the US President’s Day holiday and couldn’t think of a better name.

    Valentine’s Day + “Family Day” = Divorce Court … or the nut house

    LG responded:
    February 22, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    LOL! So true!

    Bonus day « LG said:
    February 17, 2014 at 8:08 am

    […] – Family Day. I think I’ve mentioned this before… oh yeah here in 2008 and 2012, so I won’t get in to it again, except to say this holiday should be in June, Billy is […]

Leave a Reply

