Books

Posted on

Last year, I read only a few books, and didn’t review them online as I have in years past.

Probably one of the best that I read last year was, ‘The Adventures of  Tom Sawyer’ – I never read it before and I really enjoyed it! Another good one was ‘The Handmaiden’s Tale’ by Margaret Atwood.

I’m off to a good start this year. I’m trying to stop getting lost in cyber space, watching less TV, and committing to making more time to read. This is what I’ve read so far this year…

1) The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. Great book with a compelling story. I appreciated that fact that the language was not as how it would have been actually spoken in 1154… that would be painful. The story twisted and turned and I look forward to reading the others in the series.

2) 11/22/63 by Stephen King. I have read a lot of King’s novels over the years (my sister in law owns every book he’s written) – and this was one the best of his I’ve read. He really has a gift for making characters (and even time travel!) very realistic and believable. When reading this book. I Just Wanted To Know How it Finished! I couldn’t put it down, and it drove me crazy! It’s such a unique idea and I loved how history (well, from the late 50’s and early 60’s) was entwined in the story. I loved the language and feel of the time in America. Awesome book.

3) The Highest Calling by Larry Janesky. This is a business book written in the style of a novel – that’s probably why I found it tolerable and actually interesting. Mr. Janesky is probably best known for creating the business Advanced Basement Systems (maybe some of you aren’t familiar with that franchise, but here in Southern Ontario – there have a thriving business – actually my mom used them to waterproof her basement in her 100+ year old cobblestone farmhouse!) If you are a business owner and are looking for some ideas and inspiration, then I highly recommend this book.

4) Swimsuit by James Patterson. I am so over thinking I’ve read everything he’s written! This novel was typical of his style – short chapters and a nice fast moving story. I read this book in less than 5 hours (and during that time I also made dinner and went in the hot tub for almost an hour!). This book could have been better if it was written by someone else. The story was unique and would have been better if it wasn’t written in Patterson’s normal quick style. Essentially an author/reporting is following a story and a serial killer contacts/hire/threatens him to write his story. Good book, but it could have been better.

Well, I’m off to a good start. I’ve reading one I’m halfway through, then the epic, ‘The Stand’ by Stephen King (compliments of my sister-in-law of course) to read.

4 thoughts on “Books

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    January 16, 2012 at 12:45 am

    All this reading must be why you’ve not been making your football picks.

      LG responded:
      January 16, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      That’s right! Honestly, if I made my picks it wouldn’t have made any difference this week! I would have got them ALL wrong!

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    January 30, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    And I quote …

    “So a new year… here’s some goals:

    – blog more, trying for daily.”

    Wow! I’m amazed to find there are only 8 days in January …

      LG responded:
      February 9, 2012 at 12:27 pm

      There may be more days in Febraury! We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

