My cell phone etiquette promise

Posted on

Over the years I have been a critic of poor cell phone manners and practises. Now that I have the latest iphone (for work), after not having a cell for years, I would like to make some promises about my behaviour and appropriate etiquette.

I promise to:

– NOT sit down at lunch/dinner/cocktails/ and immediately place my phone on the table, like it deserves a visible place of importance. It does not deserve it! The only important thing when I’m at lunch/dinner/drinks with friends is friends and of course, said lunch/dinner/cocktails.

– NOT to randomly check my phone during conversations with my husband, friends or family. If I need to know the time, I’ll ask someone with a watch, or state that I’ll check my phone (I very rarely wear a watch and occasionally it’s important to know the time).

– NOT answer text messages or phone calls when I’m with Real Live People. If I am expecting an Important Phone Call, I’ll let my friends know that I’m expecting said Important Phone Call, and take said Important Phone Call away from the table.

– NOT receive email alerts or alerts from any social media outlet. I don’t need to constantly know who liked my Facebook status, who commented on a photo, or who re-tweeted what.

– TO respond to messages (voice and text) in a timely manner. My friends and family will understand that I might not immediately respond to them, not because they’re not important, but because I choose not to be a) rude to the people I’m with and b) available 24/7.

– NOT to show friends/family/husband all the little cool features I’ve discovered on the phone. Just because I think something is neat-o doesn’t mean that everyone else will. If I’m asked to show or demonstrate a feature, of course I will.

– TO turn off the phone during work meetings and at times when I’m with friends/family/husband.

I think that’s it. Am I missing something? We’ll see – I hope this helps keep me in check, because my new phone is pretty damned cool.

3 thoughts on “My cell phone etiquette promise

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    January 9, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    Don’t know about the legality of this – but how about not using/checking it while driving?

    Nice ideas. And hey, this is FIVE posts in January for you! Woo-hoo!

    LG responded:
    January 10, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    In Ontario, only ‘hands free’ cell phone use is allowable by law. (It’s against the law to be holding a cell to your ear and talk – it is enforced and the fine is huge). We can use the speaker – phone setting and bluetooth technology (which my car does not have, my husband’s truck does and he uses it all the time) to make calls. Texting is obviously against the law.

    Whenever I notice a bad driver, they are almost always texting. So dangerous!

    I’m on a roll for posting!

    stevebetz said:
    January 11, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    EXCELLENT! Everyone in California should be required to sign such a pledge. I am trying to make sure that I turn my phone off when I don’t need/want to be available.

Leave a Reply

