Funny, amusing or ironic, not sure

Posted on

Today, my ‘boss’ and I are heading into the city (and having an informal meeting while travelling the 25 minutes) to get me the new iphone.

I haven’t had a cell phone in more than 5 years. I don’t feel like a need a cell phone, and especially not the latest and greatest.

I’m not one of those cell phone haters. I appreciate the fact that my husband has one (for work) that I can reach him on most of the time (except when he is deep in the bowels of a building). I have borrowed cell phones while travelling (from my mom, yes my 69 year old mother has a cell and I do not), and I find them quite handy.

While travelling with my laptop I have been known to lurk in a Mickey D’s parking lot and call my husband on Google Talk (For free! However, I think I read somewhere that Google Talk will no longer be free after Jan 1, 2012… have to check that out). I’ve never been in a situation where I HAD to have a cell phone – why? Because everyone else does! I have on occasion felt frustrated trying to locate a pay phone (oh the horror of using a public phone!)

So anyway… My ‘boss’ thinks it’s best for my to have the new iphone and the business is picking up the tab, including the monthly costs.  Why you may ask? Here’s why:

– There are so many things that can be done on phones these days (jeez that makes me sound old!), and with my job I need to be able to recommend how to make our clients lives easier, and that may require an app (like a mobile payment app for businesses who work away from a store front) – and to do this successfully, I really should walk the walk.

– To be more connected. I know there’s been a few times in the recent past where my ‘boss’ has wanted to reach me urgently to no avail. Now I’ll be avail.

– Both my ‘boss’ and his girlfriend have the new iphone and don’t really know all it’s abilities. If there are uses that could make their lives easier, I think he’s hoping I discover them.

I’m glad I just finished the book I was reading, as I’m sure I’ll be utterly consumed by this phone. I will research and post a promise regarding phone etiquette, as that’s one of my biggest pet peeves, as well as people not keeping their promises… it’s a big circle.

Chinny has no phone.

6 thoughts on “Funny, amusing or ironic, not sure

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    January 6, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    I’ve always had the same feeling about cell phones, but I have had a cheap “pay-as-you-go” phone for years for emergencies. It has worked out fine. Except for the time the lady from AAA asked me for a call-back number … and I did not even know my own number! (I have it written on a slip of paper in the case I keep the phone in now).

    Good luck finding a pay phone around here, btw.

      LG responded:
      January 8, 2012 at 1:20 am

      Pay phones are hard to find here too! No more dirty public phones for me!

    stevebetz said:
    January 6, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    The seamless internet access is amazingly easy to get used to — and it wonderful really. I think the thing I realized shortly after getting a smart phone is that you didn’t HAVE to be available 24/7.

    Turn the damn thing off from time to time.. 🙂

    LG responded:
    January 8, 2012 at 1:23 am

    Being available 24/7 was the thing I hated most about selling real estate. I don’t want to sound rude, but just because You want to talk to me (especially about business) doesn’t mean that I want to talk to You. Y’know?

    The thing is off right now – not like it matters, only 3 people know my number – and I don’t have my social media set for alerts.

    leendadll said:
    January 8, 2012 at 5:51 am

    I 2nd/3rd the comments about turning off the phone. I have my ringer nearly permanently turned off (only on when I expecting a call I really want to get, which is about twice a year). I’ve had cells for quite awhile (turned off my land line over a year ago) but my new smartphone is making me CRAZY… EVERYTHING is an app (used to be built in functionality with hardware buttons), they have to be touched “just so”, they eat batteries like crazy. I’ve had the thing for over a month and still don’t know what the hell I’m doing. Hopefully, because you’re starting fresh, you won’t have that “why doesn’t this act like my old phone?!” delayed learning curve.

    Beware the addiction – they really are itty bitty computers and there’s very little you can’t do on them.

      LG responded:
      January 14, 2012 at 1:56 pm

      Yeah, this phone is super more advanced than my last phone (years ago, before what ‘kind’ you had even mattered!). You’re so right about the addictiveness. Last night while watching a movie I found myself wanting to check it. (The movie was CRAP, so that might have encouraged my curiosity!) I also watched about an hour of iphone tutorials on YouTube, (I learned how to turn it off, lol) – that’s the way my brain needs to work – so that really helped, and I feel comfortable and confident with the phone. I was even able to show my ‘boss’ several features that he didn’t know existed (he also didn’t know how to turn it off, lol!) – good thing because he pays for it – lol!

Leave a Reply

