Observations in a theatre

Posted on

Last night I took my niece and 2 of her friends to the opening night of the Twilight series, ‘Breaking Dawn Part 1’.

This is not a movie that I wanted to see in the theatre. We don’t go to the show often, so when we do it’s usually a ‘big’ movie (with the recent exception of ‘Puss in Boots’!).

I would like to note that the movie started at 10pm, not midnight. Taking the girls to a midnight showing would have been pushing it a bit.

Observations:

1) I noticed a lot more boys/men in the audience for this movie. So either there are a lot of male closet die hard fans, or there are a lot of men hoping to either meet a girl, or please their girl.

2) I don’t want to be… rude, however, there were a lot of late teen/early 20’s women in attendance who are significantly overweight. A lot of those women I saw in the popcorn line buying nachos, pizza, hot dogs and more. It was a 10pm showing – didn’t they have dinner first? Were they eating their feelings of love for either Jacob or Edward? I don’t know, but it was really noticeable.

3) Spoiler alert (as if you care – or didn’t already read the book, haha) – Bella marries Edward. Bella gets pregnant on the honeymoon with a crazy fast growing life sucking potential monster. Bella is 18. Edward is like 94. I’m not at all a supporter of the following:

– anyone getting married at the age of 18 (and all that goes with that – not going to college, not experiencing life at all, although Bella had many run ins with the undead attempting to end her life, but still!)

– a girl marrying her first ever boyfriend

– a girl marrying a guy who is dead, or a vampire.

I know the motives of the author, she wanted her character to have a baby and all the drama that ensues. The author, as a devout Mormon, and could not possibly write about a woman having premarital relations – ergo a marriage at 18. Apparently the author is cool with:

– a woman/girl marrying at the age of 18, who hasn’t experienced life at all, (see above) pretty much marrying JUST because they are horny.

– a woman/girl marrying a dead guy/vampire, and hanging out with his murderous (at one time they all did) family.

– a woman planning on dying (suicide?) to attain immortality.

I mean c’mon Stephanie Meyer! It’s fiction! You can’t push the limit on one issue and yet completely disregard other sins.

Ugh.

Anyway – a highlight for me (aside from sitting next to a rather large male Twilight fan who probably hadn’t washed his hair in more than a week, who sat for 2 hours airing his junk, forcing me to cosy up to the theatre wall) was in the first 5 seconds of the movie when an upset Jacob ripped off his shirt and the theatre crowd when wild! Too funny.

So this was facebook status this morning: At the theatre watching Breaking Dawn last night wasn’t as crazy as I thought. I laughed pretty hard when about 5 seconds into the movie Jacob ripped off his shirt and the crowd went WILD. Ah, to be a teenage girl again!

My completely unsocialized uber Christian cousin wrote: As a teenager you ripped your shirt off in front of a movie crowd and they went wild?

Wha? Huh? Whatever.

He’s a pic my cousin would also not understand, he never once imbibing in his 30 something odd years (even refusing icing for carrot pudding as it had a speck of rum in it…)

4 varieties of Keith’s? Strongbow? Canadian? I don’t see how this week-end can’t be awesome!

6 thoughts on “Observations in a theatre

    stevebetz said:
    November 18, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Excellent post and observations. I don’t get the Twilight “oeuvre” at all, but I’m pretty sure I’m not the target audience. I saw a great thing once about how if dumpy middle age men went to a movie and ogled “teenage” girls, they’d get arrested.

    I don’t trust people that don’t drink. I’ll have a Canadian!

      GOM in Oklahoma said:
      November 18, 2011 at 11:43 pm

      Ummm … I don’t drink.

      I’m not militant about it though.

        LG responded:
        November 19, 2011 at 1:18 pm

        It’s the alcohol Nazi’s that really get to me.
        I couldn’t imagine how grouchy you’d be with a hangover – good thing you don’t consume!

      LG responded:
      November 19, 2011 at 1:23 pm

      Canadian is good. I like all of the varieties of Alexander Keith’s except the Red… bad experience in University.
      Keith’s is an old brewery in Nova Scotia – their slogan used to be (not sure if it still is) “Those who like it like it a lot”. – A very Canadian thing to say, although it sounds like the McKenzie brothers or Lloyd from Dumb and Dumber… 😉

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    November 18, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    I think your observation #1 about guys wanting to meet girls was probably pretty accurate.

    I saw the first of these films on TV. My big problem – other than the fact that the girl CAN NOT ACT (!!!!!) – is the idea that she had to meet her ‘one true love’ in high school. Really? And she had to pick a dead guy?

      LG responded:
      November 19, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      She really can’t act, you’re right.
      It’s hard to find a nice dead guy, especially in high school.

Leave a Reply

