I don’t want to

Posted on

You ever have one of those days that starts off with you just not wanting to do… something, anything?

It can be as big as, ‘I don’t want to get out of bed’ or ‘I don’t want to go to work’, or can be something small, ‘I don’t want to make the bed’, or ‘I don’t want to check my email’.

As an adult we have choices. We don’t have to get out of bed, or go to work, but of course there are consequences.

Yesterday I had a whole day full of not wanting or not feeling like doing, well, anything. I had to drag my butt out of bed to feed the dogs, make coffee, make my husband’s breakfast smoothie, let the dogs outside, etc. etc. etc… It didn’t stop there. I didn’t want to do anything! But I did. I took care of business and did what I had to do.

It was a beautiful day, almost 70* which is pretty much unheard of in this neck of the woods this time of year. When the dogs were outside for like what seemed the hundredth time, I grabbed a pair of scissors to trim back the hostas, (which I didn’t want to do) then I couldn’t just leave the mess laying there, so I grabbed a yard waste bag, all the while not wanting to do any of it.

The hosta mess led to cleaning out leaves of the flower beds, which led me to finding a huge frog. Great.

I can’t ignore the fact that frogs will freeze solid in our small pond… I always round them up and take them to a large pond where they can hunker down for the winter months. So I tossed the frog in the bucket and proceeded to clean out the pond.

Which I really didn’t want to do and hated every second of it while I was doing it.

Finally finished I had to take the dogs for a walk to a place where I really didn’t want to go, but had to as it had a deep ditch for the frogs (I found only 1 more, I’m sure I’ll find at least 3 dead next spring, but hey, I tried). All this not wanting to do things because I decided to grab a pair of scissors! Arg.

On and on and on. I never really shook the feeling of not wanting to do anything. Weird.

Today (so far) is much better.

Leave a Reply

