Recent

Posted on

I have a serious case of blog guilt. Not only am I posting sporadically at best, I’ve been a bad neighbour, rarely commenting.

I do have an excuse. Lately I’ve been spending hours and hours a day on the computer. I’ve been learning all types of crazy things, but one part of my job is to monitor and become involved in social media, and read blogs. So the last thing I feel like doing is writing a post after reading dozens of blogs and articles, (some good, some painful). Sometimes I think, ‘Who cares? Why bother?’

I’ve never publicly promoted my blog. I have told a few friends about it over the years. I don’t link posts to Facebook or Twitter, and this blog is not searchable (huh, I should check that…)  Others have found me because I followed and commented on their blogs, and that’s cool. There used to be a lot of things I would blog about that I don’t want public – now, not so much. I pretty much just relate my days (or week).

I don’t have a lot of followers. I do like the idea that people read what I write, but because I’m not saving the planet or helping people, I’m happy with having a small following.

The ironic thing is, I guess, is that one aspect of my new job will be to direct as much traffic as possible to website which features a blog. I will analyze how the people came to the site, and use that information to increase traffic.

Crazy world.

Life is good. Would be great if it was warm enough to golf.

4 thoughts on “Recent

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    March 31, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Wow … if I only posted when I had something interesting to say, I’d probably end up selling my computer …

    Nice to know you are still alive.

      LG responded:
      April 2, 2011 at 11:40 pm

      Meanwhile, you always have a funny way of looking at the everyday! When I read blogs – yours makes my day!

    stevebetz said:
    March 31, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    It’s funny the balance between writing for yourself and writing for feedback. I think if we rely on feedback then we’re doomed to chase it and that has to be the quickest way to take all the fun out it.

    Write what and when you like, I say!

      LG responded:
      April 2, 2011 at 11:42 pm

      I totally agree. You can always tell when a post is written as an advertisement. They are never any fun to read. Totally a balance.

Leave a Reply

