LG on being a good host

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been busy this morning preparing for our little Superbowl party tomorrow. I peeled 3 1/2 heads of garlic (no, I didn’t chop them – that’s what the food processor is for!) for the 10 lbs prime rib, the garlic/cheesy shrimp and the garlic/oil bread dip. needless to say our house smells garliscious.

Although we’re just having a few people over, I have 2 lists prepared, one for today and one for tomorrow. I try to be a conscientious hostess in every way I can think of… here are some things I do…

– If people offer to bring something over, that’s great! Unless of course, we really have too much food. If so, we maybe suggest a fun drink to bring for everyone. I think people want to feel that they’ve contributed and sometimes it really adds to the party and lightens the load. Too much food is always better than not enough, especially if drinking is involved!

– Be clean. I wouldn’t feel comfortable having friends over with piles of junk about, but it’s also the little things… I always make sure glasses and silverware are clean (the dishwasher doesn’t always cut it), and there is room for their coats in the closet (unless there are too many people, then they get collected in the spare bedroom, which is also neat in appearance).  

– Be accommodating. If I know that a few of our guest abhor seafood (for instance), we try to make appetizers that they might like. Also, this time of year, I think it’s important that friends can get into our house without trudging through a snowdrift, so the driveway and walkway are cleared (as much as possible anyway) of snow.

– Get ready for fun. We try to have as much done before our guests arrive so socializing can begin! The tables are set, there is enough seating for dinner and lounging, salt and pepper shakers are full, ice is made, plates and napkins for appetizers are out and ready.

– Think of the possibilities… Even though it’s Superbowl and most of the focus will be on the TV, we are open to playing games (on Wii, Move or a board game), or going in the hot tub.  Sometimes we hit golf balls in the field, or have an impromptu dance party.

– Drinking heavily, bad language and late nights are not child appropriate in our house. There is a time and place for everything, and in general (and IMHO) kids don’t belong at our parties, plus I think some of (not all, mind) our friends could use a break from their child orientated and focused lives.

I know when I go to someone’s house, I want to feel comfortable, both where I’m at and who I’m with. I’m truly not able to completely let loose if I feel I’m being judged, so if someone does something silly (okay, sometimes it’s me…), don’t sweat it, go with it and most importantly – have fun. (Sometimes people behave in a truly offensive or rude way and obviously that is not acceptable, so just next time don’t invite them!)

Certainly as hosts we’re not perfect! Sometimes we drink too much and often I am a bar Nazi, (constantly washing shot glasses and cleaning sticky spots) but when all is said and done, I think that most people who have come for dinner and spent an evening at home with us have had an enjoyable time.

We’re looking forward to tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “LG on being a good host

    stevebetz said:
    February 6, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Sounds like the perfect game-day spot to watch and have a great time! 🙂

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    February 6, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

