A recent conversation

Posted on

Yesterday after William returned home from work the phone rang. I took a quick look at the caller ID and recognized the last name as a neighbor (-ish, about 1 km away). We live in a very small town… so keep that in mind… the names and numbers have been changed just because…

Me: Hello?

Caller: Barbara?

Me: No, sorry this is 4650.

Caller: Oh, sorry I dialed the wrong number.

Me: No problem, have a good day.

Caller: Thank you, you too.

WM: Is that your code? Was that your lover?

ME: No, it was some old lady looking for Barbara.

WM: Oh sure

ME: No, actually it was old Mrs. McLean, and I bet she was trying to call her next door neighbor Barbara.

WM: C’mon, how could you know that?

ME: Because I know old Mrs. McLean, and she lives right next door to Barbara, y’know Katie’s mom?

WM: (looking at me like I’m insane) Oh now you’re psychic.

ME: No, but our phone number is  one off from theirs… we’re 4650 and they’re 4640.

WM: Oh you know everything.

ME: Once, at our old house a guy with an English accent called and asked for Steve, and I told him he had the wrong number. I told him ours and he said he wrote the number down wrong and he sounded disappointed. I asked him who he was looking for and he told me Steve McLearen. I was like, ‘I know Steve, I went to University with Steve and he’s my nephew’s teacher.’ Then I looked up the number for him and he was grateful.

WM: You’re a nut bar.

The end. The thing is, we live in a really small town…

6 thoughts on “A recent conversation

    stevebetz said:
    February 4, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    So what you’re saying is that it’s your secret code.

      GOM in Oklahoma said:
      February 4, 2011 at 4:36 pm

      Right … she went into too much detail. that’s always the tip-off to something not being kosher …

        LG responded:
        February 5, 2011 at 5:17 pm

        You see right through me GOM!

      LG responded:
      February 5, 2011 at 5:17 pm

      I never even considered that! Haha!

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    February 4, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    For well over a year we had an old lady who was always calling our number looking for “Stanley.” She just would not believe she was dialing the wrong number.

    Then she started giving out “Stanley’s” number (which was really ours) as a point of contact to all of her doctors. That was fun. Especially the time an eye doc called with very specific info and instructions on pre-surgery stuff, leaving a five-minute long message on our machine. I called the eye doc back and told them I was NOT “Stanley” and had no idea who the old lady was and that they’d better get their shit straight when she came in for the appointment. They said, “Well this is the number she gave us.”

    She must have either died or gone blind from not having proper pre eye surgery details, because we finally stopped getting the calls.

      LG responded:
      February 5, 2011 at 5:19 pm

      At the house in Tennessee we used to get calls for the same family all the time. If the phone ever rang, it was always for this one family! This went on for about 4 years, and thankfully stopped about 4 years ago.
      Your story is too funny – I’m surprised you never once just went with it, as it would have been easier for you to do so than explain the situation!

Leave a Reply

