A recent conversation

Posted on

William worked a little late last night and we had tasty stacked sandwiches for dinner, during which we had the following conversation… (my thoughts or observations are in parenthesis)…

WM: Um, do you think tomorrow you could wash my socks?

ME: OH MY GOD, are you seriously out of socks? (He has about 25 pairs of white socks)

WM: These are my last pair.

ME: I can’t even remember the last time I washed your socks.

WM: Yeah, well, this is my last pair.

ME: I bet it was when we came home from vacation and that was more than a month ago.

WM: Well that makes sense, because this is my last clean pair.

ME: (laughing) I can’t believe that you’re out of socks.

WM: Yep, this is my last pair.

ME: You know, every once in a while I check your sock drawer to see if you need socks.

WM: Well today I knew I was low, so I opened a package in the drawer, but they’re golf socks, so I thought I would ask you if you could wash some tomorrow. I really don’t want to wear golf socks to work.

ME: I’M THE WORST WIFE IN THE WORLD!

WM: No you’re not Elizabeth, you just need to wash my socks. You know that thing in the closet? That thing that holds dirty, worn socks? Have you noticed that thing overflowing?

ME: It’s not exactly something I take notice of.

MW: I don’t know how you couldn’t have noticed.

ME: You know, sometimes I see a pair sitting on the floor that I know you only wore for a few hours and I fold them up and put them back in your drawer!

WM: You do not!

ME: Yes I do!

WM: I always will re-wear the pair I had from the night before (he puts on a clean pair after he showers when he’s done work for the day).

ME: How could I not notice that?

WM: Well I do. How could you think that they weren’t worn?

ME: I do a smell test, if I smell fabric softener, they go back in the drawer!

WM: That could be dangerous.

ME: I hate washing socks. Or really, I hate folding socks!

WM: (laughing) Oh, yeah, it’s really tough.

ME: I know it’s not tough, I just hate matching them all up. It’s so annoying.

WM: Socks are the easiest things to fold.

ME: Not when you have to match them all up right.

WM: (laughing and attempting to imitate me) Oh, look at all these socks! How do they all go together? It’s a mystery! It’s a puzzle! There must be like 30 of them! What am I to do?

ME: (laughing) Exactly! I hate folding socks.

So now you know. Exciting dinner conversation eh? Tonight we’ll probably solve the issue of Global Warming or perhaps develop a plan for peace in the Mid-East!

3 thoughts on “A recent conversation

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    January 14, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    They’re all white? And they’re sooooooooo hard to match up?

    (Of course … he could say something before he puts the last clean pair on …)

    And I’m not even going to mention the sniffing dirty socks part of the story.

    LG responded:
    January 16, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Yes, they are all white, but the problem is there are 4 different brands, all with little tiny differences that make them tough to tell apart – except when they are put on.
    Now you know my struggle!

    Kzinti said:
    January 18, 2011 at 8:05 am

    Last time I needed socks and the Missus didn’t do laundry, I was so tired of asking her to do laundry and her forgetting, I just went out at ten at night and bought two new packages of socks. LOL. Boy, was she mad…

Leave a Reply

