37, 38, 39, 40, 41 & 42

Posted on Updated on

The good, the not bad,  the not bad part 2, the bad, and the crappy and nearly unreadable… and awesome.

The Good – #37 – The Endurance: Shackleton’s Legendary Antarctic Expedition by Alfred Lansing. This book is not the type that is normally on my bookshelf, but my book pusher, Rachelle lent it to me with a rave review.

This is the true story of an Antarctic explorer whose well planned idea to cross the Antarctic  in 1914 – 1915 failed in every sense of the word. What these sailors endured was truly unbelievable. The book is fast paced and fascinating.

The Not Bad – #38 – The Red Scarf by Kate Furnivall. This is the story of two women condemned by their family histories to work in a labour camp in Russia’s brutal Siberia in the 1930’s. I found it interesting to learn (although fictional) about that nasty part of Russian history (much of Russia’s history is disturbing, and my favorite to study while in school).

The Not Bad, part 2′ – #39 – River, Cross My Heart by Breena Clarke. This novel is the story or a young black girl in 1925 Georgetown, whose sister dies in a tragic accident while under her care. It’s a good story and well written.

The Bad – #40 – Gap Creek, the story of a marriage by Robert Morgan. A young couple is married and facing a harsh life in early 20th century Appalachia. The story itself wasn’t bad, but the author seemed to do a poor job of developing the male character, and I was left not understanding his bad behavior. The story didn’t end either, apparently there is a part 2. I’m surprised this was one of Oprah’s Book Club selections.

The Crappy and Nearly Unreadable – #41 – Here on Earth by Alice Hoffman. I finished this book, (it was an easy read), quickly, but only because I wanted to move on to another book. It could have been a great story, but the author didn’t develop any characters, and the writing was juvenile. Yuck. One thing I will say positively was that this book made me mad and I wanted to reach in and punch some characters, so at least I was moved, slightly…

The awesome – #42 – Breathless by Dean Koontz. This is an intriguing story of friends who discover something and are soon quarantined by Homeland Security. What they find can change the world, religion and science. A decision has to be made in how they will proceed. Of course there are animals in the novel, Koontz being a huge lover of furry things, and of course there is a psycho killer rambling about. This is one of the best Koontz books I’ve ever read – right up there with Watchers. Awesome. Read it!

8 more to go!

2 thoughts on “37, 38, 39, 40, 41 & 42

    Kzinti said:
    November 24, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Hmmm… Some interesting choices. Is there some method to your choosing books? Mine, I just kind of surf titles and authors. If a title says something to me, I grab it and check the book flaps.

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    November 24, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    I read a book once where the only reason I finished the awful thing was because it was apparent from the story that the protagonist was going to end up dying an excruciatingly painful death … and I couldn’t wait for it to happen because he was despicable and I hated him.

Leave a Reply

