Brr and etc.

Posted on

GOM recently wondered where the fall has gone. Me too. I can’t get used to the cold temperatures, even though we’ve been experiencing unusually warm daytime highs (like 60*F) today. I’ve resisted turning on the furnace, as the house heats up by the afternoon, and in the evening the fireplace warms the house up nicely. I’m hoping to have one more super low gas bill before the real cold sets in (our last one was $54 – woo hoo).

So I’m freezing right now, our house being 17*C (double that number, subtract the first number from the total and add 32 is F – 17 + 17 = 34 – 3 = 31 + 32 = 63*F) not bad, but my body refuses to adjust to the new season. (I seriously don’t know Celsius except 0 is cold and 30 is hot, bad Canadian!)

I think fall flies by because I’m so desperately hanging onto summer, and before I know it, BOOM! Winter, snow, parkas, books, shovels, snow scrapers (although I park in the garage) and touques. I’ve noticed an increase in our laundry since the cooler weather has come – weird side effect.

Speaking of touques… you know you have a good husband when he comes home with a case of beer for me, and this is inside:

He knows me so well! If only it came with a real matching touque! Yes, I think it is spelled Touque and not Toque btw.

As a side note, a couple of weeks ago he came home with this for me:

Good husband. Bigger than a King Can. It’s like a Totalitarian Can, or something… I’m not double jointed by the way, and there was a much better pic, but it showed a nip. Not blog (or at all, really) appropriate…

Anyways, I think I’m completely resisting the change in weather now knowing we’ll be deep in the Caribbean in just over 2 weeks. The Cleveland game this week-end (yeah!), which of course is in an outdoor stadium, may have me suffering a bit, although it’s expected to be 50*F (no, I don’t know or care about the reverse conversion), much better than the game we saw last season (week 11 I think), which had a wind chill of about -5*F. But still. Brr.

Life is good, but chilly.

2 thoughts on “Brr and etc.

    Kzinti said:
    November 11, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Oh my! A wee bit nipple-y outside then?

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    November 11, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    So he brings you alcohol and you lie around naked in the hot tub all day … (hopefully you get out once in awhile to … well, you know what beer does …)

    As soon as I wrote that, it got back up into the 70’s for several days.

Leave a Reply

