Saturday morning

Posted on

Despite the steady drizzle, William was up and at em early today for a golf event at Sutton, an event which wouldn’t be cancelled unless there was thunderstorms…. I have very little to do today, so I decided to ‘luxurate’ in bed. That’s probably not a word, I haven’t spell checked it yet, but I’m pretty sure I’ve never heard the word outside of my head.

I stretch out in total comfort: windows open, listening to the rain. I rarely to never fall back asleep, but today I did.

I dreamt that I was in my grandmother’s house, but of course it wasn’t my grandmother’s house. But anyway, this house had the coolest bedroom. It was large, had a window seat, multiple closets, and, well, oddly placed furniture. I remember thinking that I just loved that room!

I awoke in my groggy state,  trying to remember all the details of the cool house I dreamed about.

The strange thing that struck me is that I can’t stand it when people are obsessed with large master bedrooms.

I’m sure I’ve blogged about this before, but anyway…

When I sold real estate it was absolutely my biggest pet peeve when showing homes…. ‘oh, the master bedroom is rather small’. ARG! I think master bedroom square footage is the biggest waste of space in a home.

With mounting frustration, I would attempt to politely ask my clients why a large master was important to them. Here’s a sample conversation…

ME: So to better understand your needs, why is a large master bedroom important to you?

CLIENT: Oh, it’s a place to escape from the kids, our own sanctuary.

ME: Oh, okay! So Your kids aren’t allowed in your bedroom?

CLIENT: Well, no, of course they are. But we want a space in the house that is just ours.

ME: Beside the obvious, what do you do in the room?

CLIENT: It would be nice to read a book in peace.

ME (Being a lover of books): Oh – who is your favorite author?

CLIENT: Oh, I haven’t read a book in years, but it would certainly be nice to!

ME: Oh, okay. Anything else you can think of?

CLIENT: A lot of natural light is important to us. We love windows. Are the black out blinds included in this house?

ME: ARG #%$!

I just don’t get it.

I remember one house in LaSalle, an older home that was remodelled. The second story had a master bedroom that was about 30 ft X 30 ft. Angled in one corner was a king sized bed. All the way across the room was a dresser with a TV above attached to the wall above it. A treadmill was floating awkwardly in the middle of the room. A few pictures on the walls looked dwarfed and out of place. The room was huge, cold, and empty.

Our house, custom built by us, has a huge hole in the mainfloor, which opens to the basement. So obviously this is a huge waste of space. But it connects the mainfloor to the basement, and is a great feature. Our bedroom however is about 13 X 13. It fits our bed, 2 dressers, and a side table. It’s cozy and has enough room to change our clothes in, and well, sleep.

And it’s spelled ‘luxuriate’. That’s not how I say it though.

3 thoughts on “Saturday morning

    Kzinti said:
    October 2, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    Our house plans call for an atrium with a koi pond and some other niceties. Of course, it will be our final home…

      LG responded:
      October 2, 2010 at 6:41 pm

      I would love an atrium! In our old house I once brought our pond plants in the the winter in a makeshift pond. It didn’t work out well – always smelled bad and the water was funky despite a pump and filter. I love a few I’ve seen over the years. I love the tropical homes with an open area in the centre – especially with trees and ponds… would love to see pics of when your home is built!

    GOM in Oklahoma said:
    October 2, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    My dream home has one huge room … with a full bathroom in each corner.

    Oh wait … i lived in a house like that once … it was called a barracks.

Leave a Reply

